Pretty Maniacs 1

November 13, 2005

This was a free review copy, and I’ll honestly read anything as long as its not Lodoss War. I went into it with no previous knowledge.

This really isn’t my thing, the geared-towards-anime-fans stuff, and unfortunately that’s all this is about. It’s also the sequel to another series, so I was completely disoriented going in. I got a handle on things towards the end, but unfortunately the artist doesn’t draw girls and boys different enough, so I had the genders of some of the characters confused for awhile.

Even putting aside the fact there was some prior knowledge required, I’d still say that it’s a really disorienting series. The first chapter especially is incoherent, and it really doesn’t settle down until the main three girls decide to bind a book for their manga club. Then there’s a chapter about the consequences of this, then the last two chapters are about a Comiket.

It also lacks substance. If you like fun series about otaku though, here you go.

Leave a comment