Reiko the Zombie Shop 6

April 8, 2007

Somehow, I followed up watching Grindhouse by reading this particular volume of manga.  The two… they’re very similar.  The first thing that happened in this volume was that a girl got her leg cut off.

Anyway, more and more insane stuff happens, though somehow it was a bit more tame than last volume.  Most of what goes on here involves the army, and by the end the group is fighting off one lone, insane assassin.  Yurikawa gets “killed” again, and I sincerely hope she comes back, because Yurikawa is probably my favorite part of this series.  Many other people meet their unfortunate ends as well, including the one character I would’ve liked to have seen stick around longer.  Of course, Reiko herself died and then brought herself back to life… actually, I see a way this character could go about this without thwarting the minimal logic in the story, so let’s see if that happens.

This volume is pretty violent, too.  There are bomb dogs.  I’m sure you can imagine.

Once again, not much plot to talk about, either.  This volume was actually one long contained fight scene.  You either like watching these characters hack each other apart gratuitously and nonsensically or you don’t, you’re not going to find much else here.  Myself, I think it’s awesome and also funny.  It feels wrong to read this volume so soon after the last one, and now I’m probably gonna have to wait forever to get the next.

2 Responses to “Reiko the Zombie Shop 6”

  1. Michael Soo Says:

    In a strange way, this series reminds of Ghost in the shell. In that the body itself not important,
    you can put your memories and personality into another body and still be the same.

    Actually the best thing about this series is the love / hate relationship between Reiko and her sister Riruka.

  2. Connie Says:

    You know, I don’t think I would have ever made that connection, but you are sort of right. I love how even the most over-the-top manga can have some sort of message buried in there, whether intentionally or no.


Leave a comment