Otomen 1

January 9, 2009

I’m a little ashamed to admit that I was looking forward to this volume just as much as Pluto for my most anticipated new title for 2009.  I still can’t resist cutesy shoujo, and the premise of a manly man liking girly things, coupled with the fact this series is insane popular in Japan was really all I needed to be very excited.  It also didn’t hurt that I enjoyed Aya Kanno’s Blank Slate, too, though that was a totally different type of series.

I was a little disappointed through the first two or so chapters, since the series does exactly what it says on the box.  Asuka is captain of the Kendo team and nationally ranked in a couple different martial arts.  He strives to be manly as possible, but just can’t quite deny himself the pleasures of cooking, sewing, reading shoujo manga, and other rather feminine activities.  He tries to hide it from the girl he likes, Ryo, but being in love only makes him want girly things harder.  The jokes are pretty predictable at first, and it’s obvious that the relationship is the type that will stall forever and the two will finally hold hands in the last volume.  I was worried this was going to fall far below my expectations, which would have just crushed me and made me doubt all new shoujo manga.  Of course, to make up for the predictability of the jokes, this manga sparkles harder than any other series I’ve ever seen.  The screentone on the page will blind you if you stare too long, like looking into the sun.  In light of the following plot device, I think this is probably intentional and, if so, pretty hilarious.

By the third chapter, it turns into a really bizarrely engrossing meta-type series.  Asuka’s friend Juta is secretly a shoujo manga artist.  Not just any shoujo manga artist.  He appears to be the most popular shoujo manga artist in the most popular shoujo magazine, Hana to Yume (or Mame, as you prefer).  Asuka secretly reads and loves Juta’s manga, and so does every girl in school.  Aside from being about Asuka liking girly things and constantly at war with his manly side, the series is also about Juta following around the pair and putting them into situations that he then converts into the newest installments of “Love Chick.”  The main female character in Juta’s series is actually Asuka verbatim, right down to her name.  It’s a really weird and devastatingly effective plot device, since it calls attention to shoujo plot devices while indulging itself in the same plot devices.

I’m not sure if it’s a critique or what.  I don’t think it is, because a lot of the other elements aren’t really developed that well as of yet.  But I have to say that I’m rather excited about the places a manga-as-inspiration-for-manga can go.  Thankfully, it’s already pointed out the fact that Ryo and Asuka’s relationship isn’t going anywhere, so here’s hoping that particular hurdle will be cleared soon.

On a side note, I wish the magazine could have stayed “Hana to Yume,” because I honestly can’t think of a more girly name for a shoujo manga magazine than “Flowers and Dreams.”

On a side-side note, I was a little disappointed that the pun in the word “otomen” was never explained, especially since Juta takes to calling Asuka an otomen in the series.  “Otome” is like a beautiful girl, and the extra “n” at the end makes the second half of the word English and rather masculine and opposite the original word.  Explaining the pun also explains why Asuka is an otomen rather than an otoman.  I could be totally wrong, since I’ve not once caught a Japanese pun before, but I’m pretty sure that is the intention of the title.

I’m very much looking forward to where “Love Chick” goes.  I know I shouldn’t be excited about it, but I also feel like I have to know what Asuka will do when he finds out Juta draws his favorite shoujo manga.  With the huge popularity of the series, I’m also pretty confident that the main couple’s relationship will pick up and the characters will get way more depth than they had here.  There are just so many good places this series could go.

This was a review copy provided by Viz.

6 Responses to “Otomen 1”


  1. […] Haruhi Chan (the gag manga based on the original Haruhi series) at Completely Futile. Connie enjoys vol. 1 of Otomen at Slightly Biased Manga. Guest reviewer Marsha Reid checks out vol. 5 of Hissing at Kuriousity. […]

  2. Dryope Says:

    Eeee, I’m glad this manga is getting attention in English. It gets even more amazing as it goes (imo) with an ever growing cast of “otomen” and a rock band.

    You are definitely correct on Otomen. I thought it was explained in the series, but maybe not.

    Hmmm, I was translating Juta’s manga as “Lovetic” (as in Romantic, but clearly I am not a professional translator haha. Love Chick makes way more sense. o__O)
    Also, it’s not quite verbatim in the Japanese because rl Asuka and Ryo spell their names using different characters than manga Asuka and Ryo. But still. There’s not a good way to show that in English.

    *ahem* anyway. I will now go off and pray that everyone who even remotely is interested in shoujo loves this series as much as it deserves.

  3. Connie Says:

    To be fair, I think Juta does explain what Otomen means, but the pun is left alone. I guess the definition was good enough, but I’m a big fan of puns.

    You know, now I’m looking forward to more otomen characters. I thought the jokes got a little tired when that’s all there was, but I think having more characters would help a lot. And I desperately need to know how a rock band figures into things now.

  4. lys Says:

    Dryope, I always thought of it as “Lovetic” too. Maybe because of reading ParfaitTic and getting that mangaka’s “-tic”=”romantic” explanation. Oh engrish. Oh well. (I’ll still think of it as Lovetic in my mind when I read it)

    I guess the concept of a character reading manga in the magazine their own manga actually runs in (and thus potentially being able to read their own series) is just too much of a paradox(?) for the world to handle! The thing I do like about the Hana to Yume/Hana to Mame thing is that it also works in English (Flowers and Dreams/Flowers and Beans). It’s true, “Flowers and Beans” lacks the delightful girliness of the original, but it’s still pretty funny, I think :D I can’t wait to buy this manga myself!!

  5. Anna Says:

    I wasn’t sure if I wanted to try this or Blank Slate, and I ended up getting Blank Slate. It sounds like I’ll enjoy reading this too though!

  6. Connie Says:

    I almost can’t believe they’re by the same author. She mentions not doing many girly series at the beginning of Otomen, so I wonder if the hardboiled shoujo like Blank Slate is more her thing. I liked Blank Slate, but I wasn’t sure what to expect going in, and I was kind of ready to hate it since I thought it would be a weaker early series. I always had my eye set on Otomen though, I’ve been dying to try it ever since I read the article on Emi’s Random Shoujo Manga Page.


Leave a comment