Astral Project 2

June 3, 2009

This series is really, really awesome in a sort of far-out way.  The methods it uses to tackles relationships in both out-of-body experiences and in real life are interesting, and I can’t help but be sucked into all the mysteries and the stylish goings-on during Masahiko’s journeys.  It’s just too weird not to like.

This volume introduces a painting that Masahiko becomes obsessed with.  I got a severe deja vu feeling when I saw it, and that’s probably because it’s attributed to the extremely creepy Francis Bacon, who is mentioned a few panels later.  Except… I just went through all my art history books, and about 30 pages of google image search, and I cannot find the painting.  20th century art was not something I focused on in school, so Bacon isn’t really my strong suit.  I’m not entirely convinced it’s a real painting, but I thought it was when I first saw it.  This painting has literally been driving me crazy all day.  Thanks, Masahiko, apparently the painting does have power over others.

I was quite delighted when the figure from the painting took off and started flying around and talking to Masahiko.  I love this series so much.

Otherwise, there’s lots of other stuff going on.  The jazz collector poses some sort of threat to Masahiko towards the beginning of the volume, he finds himself drawn more and more into Astral Projection, and becomes more and more obsessed with his sister’s death.  I can’t really fault it on anything, because it appropriately drifts from topic to topic within the framework set up in the first volume.  It’s absolutely perfectly executed for what it is.  About the only thing I was missing was more from the girl he met last volume, but there was some stuff about her and a lot of background, so she was at least present and accounted for.

I also like Masahiko’s profession.  While he seems like a pretty average 20-something with a job he’s not all that interested in committing to or spending much time with, it’s important to remember he’s actually employed by the yakuza, and these guys think pretty highly of him.  He points out himself that he’s not a good guy.  I do wonder what will come of that.

Astral Project.  Shame on me for falling behind, but luckily I’ve got volume 3 to read now and the volume 4 conclusion coming soon.

2 Responses to “Astral Project 2”


  1. […] Kim on vol. 1 of 13th Boy (Manga Life) Connie on vol. 2 of Astral Project (Slightly Biased Manga) Connie on vol. 6 of Black Lagoon (Slightly Biased Manga) Julie on vol. 2 of […]

  2. Pirkaf Says:

    Good stuff. A realy page-turner. Can’t wait to read the third volume.


Leave a comment