Astral Project 3

March 12, 2010

marginal / Syuji Takeya – CMX – 2009 – 4 volumes

Forgive me, for I have sinned.  I was reading this when I wrote up my Midterm Report Card recommendations for Manga Recon, but I decided to hold off on reading the whole thing until the fourth volume came out.  Then I didn’t get the fourth volume for a long time, which is terrible because this series is mind-blowing amazing.  So I’m going to rectify this oversight right now and give the most robust recommendation I can muster.

Now, there’s a lot of existential and philosophical talk floating around this series.  Normally, this would turn me off in a big way, especially since I normally have a lot of problems following this type of thinking in a manga (usually because it’s not handled well, but also because nine times out of ten I prefer shutting my brain off when I read comics).  I’ve heard a few people mention they were turned off by this aspect of the series, and I completely understand that.  It’s got my ear, though, and I love where it’s going with its themes.  I can’t get over how clearly and easily a lot of the heavy stuff is being conveyed, too.

What are the themes at this point?  Well, the theory put forth for this period of heavy astral projection is that humans are fundamentally flawed and broken at this stage of their evolution.  They’ve come up with alternate forms of communication, effectively shutting them off from the most necessary form, that of the face-to-face conversation.  There’s also the fact that the first worldwide religion, television, is essentially worse for humanity than anything that has come before.  It’s a depressing time, and people are escaping.  The two astral projections without human bodies theorize that those two conditions will destroy humanity.

The book introduces its rather heavy point with a conversation of rites of passage, saying that one of the problems is that modern society lacks such a thing.  They go on to state that Japanese otaku culture is the most socially broken and spiritually robust of the Earth’s inhabitants, and it got this way by being neutralized by and following the example of the United States.  Bascially, it’s the bad social practices and policies of the US that will kill civilization.  I know it’ll come back around to this point in the final volume, and I must say, I absolutely need to see the US destroy humanity.

There are other things going on aside from this conversation, however, which is another huge saving grace for the series.  Masahiko falls in love for the first time in his life, finally courting Misa on the ground.  Their relationship blossoms in an understated way, and Masahiko begins opening himself up to her, which causes him to reflect on himself.  We also meet Misa’s mother and Zampano’s wife, and she gets drawn up into a rather major story event by the end of the volume.  Interestingly, the story event was related more to the characters than to the plot.

I love the character development in this series an awful lot, too.  Admittedly, one of the story’s weaknesses seems to be that the original focus, what happened to Masahiko’s sister Asami, continually falls by the wayside, but it never disappears completely.  I think this is pretty intentional, however, since the story is largely about Masahiko exploring himself, and coming to terms with the loss of his sister, whether through death or because she projected too hard, is a part of that.

The story also addresses the subject of the astral projections and what happens after death.

Awesome, awesome stuff.  And very unique, to be sure.

3 Responses to “Astral Project 3”

  1. Sivek Says:

    This was a series that left me pretty disappointed but I chalk it up to the writer’s inability to keep a good suspense/mystery as another of his series starts really interesting like this one and falls apart near the end as well.

    Really disliked the philosophical angle as I do in most manga as it’s always seems heavy handed and poorly done. Also hated the part about the US being responsible for otaku, just pointless massaging of the manga’s audience.

    Also disappointed in the dropping in relevance of the sister plot and it never really paid off for me.

    It sounds like I really hate the manga but I really liked it for about 2.5 volumes and still really like the art style. It just more disappointing when a series looks like it could be something really good only to fall apart for you.


  2. […] Evolution (Comics Worth Reading) Chris Zimmerman on vol. 1 of Arata the Legend (cbs4.com) Connie on vol. 3 of Astral Project (Slightly Biased Manga) Michelle Smith on vol. 2 of Banana Fish (Soliloquy in Blue) Shaenon Garrity […]

  3. Connie Says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more about philosophy in manga. Normally I give up on those story segments when they appear for exactly the reasons you mentioned. And I know it’s much the same in Astral Project, but for some reason, the philosophical diatribes clicked with me here. I’m willing to admit that it’s pretty much more of the same boring stuff, though. I thought the US/otaku angle was such a strange nonsequitor that I couldn’t take it seriously, but somehow that didn’t make me lose respect like it should have, either. And I can also admit the story does lose focus and turns into something completely different as it goes.

    Funny enough, I hated Old Boy, I forgot they were written by the same person. It had a lot of the same problems I had here, but somehow, I forgive them all in Astral Project. I guess this just hits on enough of my favorite storytelling techniques and tropes that I’m willing to forgive it all its problems. Most people seem to share the same opinion that you do, however, that it started out good and fell apart in the third volume. I can’t really argue with that.


Leave a comment