Tsubasa 25

December 26, 2010

CLAMP – Del Rey – 2010 – 28 volumes

Guys. You won’t believe it. This volume of Tsubasa… not only was it enjoyable to read, it made sense of the story from the previous volume. Some of my questions were answered. I was shown, rather than having a character sit down and explain it to me.

It was amazing. Or pretty good, at least.

This volume is almost entirely a flashback. We learn when and why Syaoran met Sakura, and it was indeed the seventh day before her seventh birthday. We find out why Syaoran went to Clow, and why he grew up there, and what the deal was, and a whole lot of other things. And there are a ton of heart-meltingly adorable scenes between Syaoran and Sakura. We also find out what happened to Sakura, and just what Syaoran’s wish is.

In fact, the biggest question I have now is just what Fei Wang’s wish is, and what exactly Syaoran… must’ve given him to fulfill his own wish? If that even happened? There’s a very interesting twist here.

Actually, there’s all sorts of other questions. Why two Syaorans? Why two Sakuras? How does Watanuki figure into all of this again? Is it significant that he had to hold Syaoran’s place in modern Japan? Was he even doing that, since he has no memories?

Boy, is it creepy to see Yuko up and around, too. That was a little jarring. I forgot that this is a little… earlier than the volume of XxXholic I’m on right now.

I’m… looking forward to the ending of Tsubasa? I’ve been dreading it all year, but I’m planning on finishing it off over the next few days. Maybe… maybe it won’t be as bad as I thought?

4 Responses to “Tsubasa 25”


  1. […] Gingacho (Soliloquy in Blue) Ed Sizemore on vols. 6-8 of Sundome (Comics Worth Reading) Connie on vol. 25 of Tsubasa (Slightly Biased Manga) James Fleenor on vols. 1 and 2 of Vermonia (Anime Sentinel) Nicola on vols. […]

  2. Oliver Says:

    Tsubasa made sense?!?!?! Fooled me.

  3. Connie Says:

    I mean, it was only for one volume. A stopped clock is right twice a day, right?

  4. Oliver Says:

    Hmm? Lemme figure this out…a stopped clock…so Tsubasa could just be in a good place right now, but fall back into confusing ways? A lot of people who have read this call it confusing but I think it’s how much you pay attention to it.


Leave a comment