Oh My Goddess! 44

October 4, 2015

Kosuke Fujishima – Dark Horse – 2014 – 48 volumes

I’m going to miss this series terribly when it ends.

The Halgal arc continues here, although this is just about the end of it.  We get two very exciting, separate incidents that are a suitable ending to this really long story.  It’s hard to imagine the wrap-up next volume topping this.

So the group is separated, with Keiichi and Belldandy in one group, and Urd and Skuld in the other.  Hagal is about to convert Belldandy, and Keiichi has to perform a tremendous act of faith to help her.  Contracts are terminated.  New ones are forged.  Things that don’t happen in this series happen.  It’s wonderful.

Meanwhile, Urd and Skuld are out of power.  Goddess power.  Urd tells Skuld that she can tap her demon power to help them, but she might not be able to control it, and that they both have to put a lot of trust in each other for it to work.  It gets ugly, but sisterly love is also a beautiful thing.  It was quite touching.

I can’t really say more than that without spoiling it.  The volume was action-packed, and the character-driven moments were what made it awesome.  It’s why you’ve been reading the series this long.  My sitcom took a turn for the action-packed lately, but I can’t say I don’t like it.  I love it, in fact.  All those sitcom moments sort of added up to make this even better.  Because I really care about these characters now, and seeing them perform like this is awesome.

See?  This is why I’ll be sad to see this series end.

Leave a comment